The Members Area utilises several layers of technology to ensure the confidentiality and integrity of its transactions across the Internet. SSL Protocol (Secure Sockets Layer) ensures that data cannot be read by other computers as it travels between your browser and our server. Digital Certificates allow you to verify that your browser is communicating with our server and not another server posing as our server. Member Numbers, PINs (Personal Identification Numbers), your date of birth and other personal details are also used to verify your identity. In order to provide a banking service on the Internet, it is necessary for information to securely pass between your computer and our server.
Your Browser - As secure encryption advances, browsers need to be updated to avail of the most up-to-date improvements in secure communications. We recommend that you use an up to date browser. At the very least we recommend that you use Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Firefox, Opera or Safari
Cookies - A cookie is a piece of information that our server gives to your browser once your browser has established a secure session. The cookie basically tells our system that a secure session has already been established with your computer. Without the cookie data, you would have to login every time your browser requested any information from our server. When you click the Logout button to leave the Members Area, the cookie data is deleted from the system thus breaking the link between your PC and our server. Clicking on the Logout button ensures that you securely terminate the service.
Caching - Caching is temporarily storing of information either in your computer's memory or its hard drive. When you view a page on the Internet, your browser may keep a copy of that information locally. This can be very useful for quickly retrieving pages that you have visited previously. However it may cause problems when the website has been changed, in which case you could be viewing out-of-date or even incorrect information. Your cache can be cleared.
How do I know my account details and other information is kept private?
When your browser and our server are establishing a secure session they will exchange a secret code. This code is commonly called a session key. This session key is used to encrypt all the data as it passes through the Internet including your account details, transactions and loan applications. The information is decrypted only when it reaches your browser.
How do I know that the information sent by the server is accurate and has not been changed en route?
It is important that you know your information has not been tampered with as it travels across the Internet. Part of SSL Protocol involves using a Message Authentication Code (MAC). If a message is tampered with in transit then your browser will not accept the message.
How do I know my member number and PIN are kept private?
When your browser and our server are establishing a secure session they will exchange a secret code. This code is commonly called a session key. This session key is used to encrypt (scramble) all the data that passes between the two computers. Only your browser and our server will have the session key that can decrypt (unscramble) your information.
In order to securely use our service, you should always:
Ensure that the site address you connect to is correct. The legitimate website address to log into the members area will start with https://. If your address bar displays http without the s your session will not be secure.
Secondly, you must ensure that your browser is indicating a Secure Session. The Digital Certificate that our server sends to your browser will allow your browser to uniquely identify our website. Your browser will warn you if the Digital Certificate is incorrect.
WARNING! - Only proceed if the address is correct and your session is secure.
Different browsers have different ways of indicating that the session is secure and you should consult the documentation or help files on your browser. The links below give details for the most popular browsers.
Always finish your session by pressing the Logout Button. This will ensure that your session with our server has terminated securely.